Do You Need Injured Worker Aid Sooner Rather than Later?

    The whole idea of workers’ compensation benefits is to give you financial support after you’re hurt at work—fast.

    Worker’s comp is a form of insurance that Louisiana employers pay for so you get help quickly and they avoid costly and time-consuming lawsuits.

    The medical coverage for your injury and payments for wages you’re missing go a long way toward getting your life back on track after an injury.

    The rules seem simple enough:

    • Your medical costs are covered from the beginning.
    • Your lost wages kick in 14 days after you start missing work.

    In reality, it often takes longer than that.

    Sometimes, you have to stay on top of the workers’ comp insurance company to get it moving on your claim.

    A special kind of lawyer can make sure the system doesn’t ignore you. Workers’ compensation lawyers, such as those at Workers’ Compensation, LLC, work with this process every day and know what needs to happen and when.

    In Metairie, New Orleans, Hammond, the Northshore, Baton Rouge, Houma, Lafayette, Alexandria, Shreveport, Monroe, or anywhere else in Louisiana, after you’re hurt at work, talk to Workers’ Compensation, LLC.

    Workers’ Comp Is What We Do.

    Contact Us Today! »

    When Should I Start Getting Lost Wages Checks after My Job Injury?

    The lost wages part of workers’ comp, also called indemnity benefits in Louisiana, pays two-thirds of your regular wages, up to a maximum rate set by the state, when you can’t work because of an injury.

    You’re supposed to start getting it two weeks after your employer receives notice that you can’t work.

    But insurance companies don’t usually start sending checks until they “complete their investigation.”

    That typically takes at least three to four weeks or even longer when “completing an investigation” really means “finding a way to deny the claim.”

    You should know this:

    • Insurance companies may then be responsible for paying you back benefits to cover the time beyond two weeks that you were waiting on them.
    • You could also argue that they owe you a late payment penalty and a statutory attorney fee.

    Although you might not start getting checks by 14 days after your injury, there’s another way that the 14 days provide a useful time frame for you: now is when you should call a lawyer.

    If you haven’t started getting payments yet, that’s a sign you could benefit from having someone to reinforce your rights under workers’ comp.

    Talk to a Workers’ Compensation, LLC, lawyer for a free initial consultation on your claim.

    Get My Free Evaluation! »

    Video: “You Need to Make Sure You’re Getting Every Bit That You’re Owed.”

    Transcript -

    Daren Sarphie: You’re not entitled to your first workers’ compensation check until you’ve been out of work for at least seven days. Even then, your employer is not obligated to pay you that first check until 14 days have passed from the first time they have noticed that you’re out of work because of this injury. That’s at least two weeks that you’re going to go without receiving a workers’ compensation check.

    The Workers’ Compensation Act has specific laws on when that first payment of indemnity benefits are due, how those indemnity benefits are calculated, and when those indemnity benefits must be paid. So it’s important that you understand these laws. You need to make sure you’re getting every bit that you’re owed. If you’ve been hurt at work, call Workers’ Compensation, LLC, at (877) 266-7626. That’s 877-COMPMAN.

    When Should I Start Getting Health Care for My Job Injury?

    As soon as you’re hurt at work, you should immediately receive any medical care you need to stabilize your situation.

    If it’s an emergency, you shouldn’t worry about how your workers’ comp claim is going to work—not just yet.

    Your workers’ comp medical coverage should start with your first doctor visit. Workers’ comp will reimburse that cost.

    But, then, things get more complicated:

    • Your employer will want you to see a doctor it chooses for ongoing treatment.
    • But you should choose your own doctor, who has your best interests at heart.
    • The insurance company may want to send a nurse to observer your medical treatment.
    • You don’t have to agree to that.
    • Your medical care for your injury should last until no further treatment can help.

    If you have a workers’ comp attorney, someone who works with the workers’ comp process every day, they can make sure you get a doctor who prioritizes you over your employer’s budget.

    Your attorney can intervene to be sure tactics such as sending nurse case managers don’t derail your benefits.

    And, if the insurance company tries to end your coverage too soon, your lawyer can fight back.

    To protect your rights and get all the benefits provided for under the law in a timely way, get a workers’ compensation lawyer working for you right away.

    Call Us Now! »

    I Want My Free Consultation

      Serving Workers
      Everywhere in Louisiana

      CALL US »